Why Now?!

Week before finals. The time when I am constantly working on projects or homework of one kind or another and my computer decides that now would be the best possible time to start messing up. I don’t know what happened. One minute it was absolutely fine the next it was screaming at me and shutting down because there was some kind of error.

Now I’m without a computer the week I need it the most. I did finally get it to turn back on but no internet. None whatsoever. The thing won’t even recognize that there are available networks it can connect to. I mean how does that even happen? I certainly don’t know. I’m not all that knowledgeable about the workings of a computer. Of course I can use one just fine but the inner workings and fixing it are far beyond my skills.

I did give it a try though. I grabbed my phone and searched for a solution. Apparently this is a common problem with the brand of laptop that I have. Fortunately¬†this is the first time I’ve had problems with mine.Unfortunately the common tricks to fix the problem didn’t work for mine. I spent a good hour and a half searching the internet with my phone and trying every single idea that I came across. And nothing. I still have a laptop that can’t seem to recognize the wifi networks.

This means I’m going to have to take the extra time out of my day to take this laptop to a company to fix it. It’s finals time. I don’t have extra time! And I can’t just take it back under warranty. I lost that years ago, mostly because my laptop is coming up on six years old. I know that means it’s ancient in technology terms but it’s been working just fine so I saw no reason to get a new one. Of course I also don’t have the money to buy a new one so that’s another factor.

But seriously?! Why now?! Why this week?! Why couldn’t it have held out for another week?! Then I’d have two weeks that I could take it somewhere and leave if I needed to. Now I have to hope that someone can fix it this weekend. Or start finding alternative ways to get all my work done. Which I’ve already been doing. Lots of hours at the library and more use coming from my tablet than ever before. So in reality I can make it through finals without my computer but I’d rather not. That’s just the most comfortable option of all. Well, here’s to hoping they can fix my laptop quickly.

Leave a Reply

