When I was Young

When I was young I thought my life would be much different than how it is turning out. I never thought I would be the girl that takes 5 years to graduate college. I never thought I would want to be a teacher. And I certainly never thought I would move out of my parents house before I finished college. 

When I graduated from high school, I had a boyfriend, no idea what I wanted to do with my life, and a goal to be the first person in my family to graduate colllege. It’s amazing how so much can change in the span of five years. Not even a full five years yet but it’s close.

I now have a different boyfriend. The other having dumped me because we no longer had time to see each other when we went to different colleges that were three hours apart. We tried for a long time but it just didn’t work once he graduated and went to college the year after me. Now we’re cordial friends. We say hi when we see each other and congratulate each other on achievements but nothing more. Now I have a boyfriend that I live with and see all the time, who wants to work things out together when something goes wrong, and who I love very much.

I now know what I want to do with my life. Shortly after starting college I decided I wanted to be a teacher. Not just any teacher but a music teacher. Of course after some time working on that degree I also realized that if I continued with that I would be miserable for the rest of my life. I love music and being in band but teaching it was just not for me. So I switched to English. And I couldn’t be happier. I get to spend my time reading and writing and discussing books. It’s wonderful. A dream come true really.

I still have the same goal of being the first in my family to graduate from college and I’m closing in on that goal. In fact as long as everything goes as planned I will be a college graduate come May of 2017. It took me a little longer than some but I have not and will not give up. I may have had the goal of four years but that wasn’t realistic after changing my major. And I’ve had to accept that. Thankfully I’ve had a great support system that was constantly pushing me to continue and do better for myself.

So even though my life is drastically different than what I had thought it would be like at this point in my life, I couldn’t be happier with where it has gone. I wouldn’t change a single thing. 

Leave a Reply

