Persepolis

Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood is a graphic novel written by Marjane Satrapi. It tells her story as she grew up during the Islamic Revolution in Iran and how those events affected her life and world. This novel, though read for a class, was a very interesting and fun read. Because it was a graphic novel it was also a rather quick read but that made no difference to the amount I enjoyed it. In fact, I probably liked it better for being a graphic novel. If it had been a traditional novel I probably would have never touched or enjoyed it without some prodding from a class.

Not only did I complete an assignment for class but I also learned quite a bit about the Islamic Revolution that I had no idea about. Honestly I didn’t really know much about Iran before America became involved. And Satrapi’s story tells how her country came to the place it was when that happened. I was really nice to not only learn some history I didn’t know but to also learn it from the perspective of someone that lived in it.

Through getting this different perspective I was able to view the people in a way that I never had before. In truth I had always just thought of the Middle East as a place that I would probably never visit. I really thought of it as more of an idea of what the people were like because I had no real knowledge. In reading Satrapi’s story, there are now several names and ‘faces’ to go with the knowledge. The graphic novel made it real. Persepolis connected the words with the drawings, creating images in my brain in association with the information. It was an eye opening experience to read this book and see how life was for someone like Marjane Satrapi. And I hope to continue reading such books and having my eyes pried wider open.

Leave a Reply

