Finally!

Yesterday I finally finished reading Game of Thrones. It took me several months, more than I’d like to admit but I’ve finally finished it and I can move on to the next book in the series, Clash of Kings.

I know I’m a bit late to the party on reading these books. I’ve been wanting to for a long time but I was just never able to find the time to sit down and read like I wanted to. Ever since starting college it’s become very difficult to read anything other than my class books anymore. I know I’m a senior and almost done with my degree but the problem still plagues me. I’m a reader! Or at least I used to be. In high school I would devour books in a matter of days, sometimes just a matter of hours. I always had a book that I was reading and I was always planning the next book I would be reading when I finished my current one. Now I just have a list of books I hope to one day read that just sits as a reminder that I hardly have time for reading.

But I can finally say that I marked off one of those on my list. It felts so good to close the book after having read the last few words. I don’t even remember the last time I was able to do that with a book that wasn’t for school. But now I have! And I’ve even had a little time to get started on the next book, which is an equally wonderful feeling.

Some people might ask why I don’t just watch the show to get the story without quite as much of a time commitment since I could get other things done while watching the show. But I just won’t. I’m sure the show is just as amazing as everyone says. However I am a firm believer that the book is always better than the show or movie. So I always do my best to read the book before seeing the movies or shows. And that stands true for this instance as well. Once I complete the books I will watch the show because there’s so many people that love it. (I want to know what everyone’s talking about.) But until then I will continue to chip away at the books. Accomplishing my goal little by little, while also watching my “want to read” list get longer and longer. It’s so wonderful to be a reader.

Leave a Reply

