Thanksgiving Break

IT’S FINALLY HERE!! Thankgiving Break! I have waited so long for this to show up. It’s been a long time since we had a break in school and I was getting exhausted. I know that I’ll probably end up just laying around the house doing nothing for the entire break but that’s exactly what I need to do. I need to sit down and binge watch Netflix with no homework to do and nowhere to be. I need that time to relax and reset my energy before the last stretch of classes this semester.

But that’s not all I’m going to be doing. See, my boyfriend and I play this game call ARK: Survival Evolved, in which you build up a base and capture dinosaurs to protect it. It’s not my most favorite game but he really enjoys it so I play with him. Anyways in this game you can also get eggs from your dinosaurs that you can hatch babies from and raise to adulthood.

And that’s what we’ve decided to do this weekend. He has a three day weekend and I am just at the beginning of my week long break. So we’ve already started hatching and raising yesterday. But it will take three days and something odd hours to completely raise the spinosaurs that we have chosen for this weekend. It’s easy enough to raise the dinos once they’ve made it out of the baby phase but there’s also imprinting that happens every few hours. Basically the imprinting gives a bonus to the stats of the animals, allowing for even stronger dinos to ride. The baby might ask for some specific food, or a walk, or to cuddle but it will ask for something every few hours. The space of time can be anywhere from 2 hours to 4 hours. At least that’s the range that we’ve always had the timers land in.

So we’ve decided to raise three of these dinos over the next three days, which means that we’ll have to give them what they want every few hours. And these timers rarely line up with each other so that’ll be fun. The timers also continue through the night, meaning that we’ll have to set alarms for all hours of the night to take care of them. Now that I’m looking at how little sleep I’ll be getting over the next few days I’m beginning to wonder if this will actually be worth it in the end. My boyfriend seems to think it’ll give us an edge over the wild dinos that we have to fight to keep our stuff safe. I certainly hope this turns out to be something that helps us. Though I have to admit the babies are super cute! imag0364

Leave a Reply

