Absolutely True Story of an English Major

Now that I’m a college senior I’ve totally given up on the idea that I’ll get to read anything for pleasure anymore. I seem to only have time to read what’s assigned for all my classes. And that’s a lot. I mean I am an English Ed major so it totally makes sense that I would have a ton to read for classes but I just wish I had time to read something of my choice that I really enjoyed. That’s not to say that I don’t like some of the stuff that I read for these classes. In fact I discovered a love for Gothic novels just this past semester because I was reading a few for a class. Of course that’s not always the case. Sometimes it’s very dry but necessary reading. I mean I might someday be teaching anyone of these texts that I’m having to read so I need to know about them and be open to learning from them.

Anyways I’ve given up on thinking I’ll ever get to read anything for pleasure any time soon. It’s a bit sad that I’ve had to abandon this activity that used to be what I spent the majority of my time doing. But it’s ok. I want to be an English teacher so I have to make some sacrifices to reach that goal. Thankfully there are those times when I get to take classes that I enjoy doing the reading for. This semester is one of those times. I am taking a class that is focused on Young Adult Literature and how to read and look at it from the perspective of a teacher.

I’ve only had to read one book for this class but it was one of the easiest things I’ve ever done. Honestly I was kind of dreading sitting down to read an entire book over the weekend but once I started it was wonderful. The book was Sherman Alexie’s Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. And I read it in a matter of a few hours because I just couldn’t put it down and make myself stop. The book tells the story of an Indian on the Spokane Indian Reservation that chooses to transfer to a school that is outside the reservation and how that goes on to affect both himself and his tribe.

It was a wonderful little book that helped me to fall back in love with reading. By the time I had finished reading I had gotten so caught up in the story of Junior, Rowdy, and Penelope that I didn’t even remember I had been reading for a class. I was reading for pleasure again. And it was the best thing in the world!

Leave a Reply

